Blackhorn 209 vs Loose 777

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robertb

Reaction score
I have been shooting loose 777 since 2002. I have never had an issue with it with either #11 caps or 209s. The 209s do create a crud ring but that's nothing that isn't solved with cleaning. I do like how easy it is to clean 777 with hot water and the fact that there is no oily residue or stinky smell like Pyrodex.

With that said, I recently decided to try Blackhorn 209 in a CVA Optima v2 today. Call me a late adopter. Anyway, I measured out my charges by weight and put them in small vials. Accuracy with them was decent but not what I would call remarkably better than 777. Anyway, I get home this evening and clean the gun with regular gun cleaners as Western states. My first impressions are this.....It's dirtier than I expected after hearing how clean burning it is. It's also harder to work with when pouring charges into vials, barrel, etc. based on the shape of the granules. Loose 777 is still one of my favorites as the cleanup is so easy...I've also never had corrosion issues with it. Then again, I clean my stuff the same day it is shot.

I'm not entirely sold on Blackhorn 209 yet. What makes it so much better? If you read the forums, you'd think this stuff is pixie dust.

"you'd think this stuff is pixie dust. "

To me it is. Some people love the Blackhorn, some like the T7. Personal preference.