Smokeless Patriot observations

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LHR

Supporter
Supporting member
Reaction score
I’m pretty new at this smokeless thing but have a few observations to share.

Sabots and Cutting Edge bullets/N120 do not play well together for me.

Northern Precision pin points, veggie wad and 56gr. N120 work very well together.
IMG_0040.jpeg

I fired this 5 shot group at 100 yards right after a scope adjustment, that first shot after adjusting is always off just a tad.

IMG_0038.jpeg
I found this load gave me an average 10 shot velocity of 2531 fps and recoil was stout but very manageable for a light weight Patriot. I have the Brux 1-20 twist 26” barrel.
Primers came out nice , easy and clean with very little blow by. Using the high pressure adjustable plug and Winchester 209’s.

About recoil, this same bullet loaded with 77gr. Weighed charge of BH209 was somewhat painful to shoot. Just as accurate, but not nearly as fun to shoot, maybe because the cost is so much higher with BH209. But BH209 velocity was only 1950 fps compared to the 2531fps of N120, I expected recoil with smokeless to be brutal and it just wasn’t!

When I ordered the high pressure breech plug kit , Mark sent me the stainless bushing and mentioned the carbide bushing was back ordered. Is the carbide bushing going to make a difference?

The carbide will last a longggggg time, whereas the stainless will in time burn out. Shoot the stainless insert until the carbide numbers come back in stock then just retire the stainless one as a back-up should you need to replace the carbide one.

When I ordered the high pressure breech plug kit , Mark sent me the stainless bushing and mentioned the carbide bushing was back ordered. Is the carbide bushing going to make a difference?