New Field Dressing Knife Recommendation??

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been using the same buck knife with a gut hook for the last 7-8 years, and it has been a great knife over that span of years. It just doesn't seem to retain its sharpness as well after I sharpen it these days (like a chain for a chainsaw, it doesn't seem to keep its sharp cutting ability as long as it once did). That being said, what do you guys recommend as a replacement? I would definitely want a knife with a gut hook (very convenient). I am certainly not opposed to another Buck knife, but don't know if there are even better knives out there. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Ive been using Kershaw guthook knives for ever it seems.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/282747602879 But this year i picked up a new knife at a gun show, no gut hook. Mora Companion. I got it as a deboning knife but im so impressed with its feel and staying sharp, Im going to carry it hunt this year. Hard a full size rubber coated handle and a 4” blade. I love this thing. They come with a hard plastic sheath but there is a leather one available that im gonna check out.

https://www.knivesofthenorth.com/pr...f6N1US-ZRtFOZlE1EDYhuoBYmSLITBRAaArr_EALw_wcB

A two bladed knife with a gut hook and I never got along, seemed the hook was always in the way. I have always made a small incision, stuck in two fingers with the sheep hoof blade of a stockmans knife between them and opened 'em up. Fingers hold insides down and the short blade has no point to poke insides. Dad taught me that (he was a sheepman) and I have been doing it since 1955.

Louie