Hernia surgery, well crap!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well I am scheduled for hernia surgery on Tuesday. Not what I want to do at all.
Not only is there a good possibility of missing muzzleloader season this year but, most importantly I am most likely gonna miss the end of my daughter's high school cross country season. Which will most likely include her being able to participate in the state meet for a second year in a row. But if she does make it to state I will probably do all I can to get there to watch her run. I haven't missed a race since she started running in 7th grade. So it will suck to miss even one.

Thanks for your words everyone. I honestly didn't realize how common hernias are until the doctor confirmed that I had one, and then I started learning more about them.
I do have a question for those of you who have had a hernia repaired. How long ago did you have the repair done and have you had any problems since?
I appreciate any feedback.

Mine was about 18 years ago. No problems with it. But since then I had surgery to insert a large stent into the abdominal aorta to repair a huge aneurism there. But 5 years after that the stent clotted up completely. I wound up getting a bypass graft tube inserted from my arm shoulder artery down to my legs to get blood to my legs. The surgeon said that it was a huge problem to get past all that scar tissue in the groin area. Plus getting a heart double bypass done in between too. Fun stuff getting old and not winning the genetic lottery.

A week after surgery you will be able to watch your daughter run, just take it very easy.
I had hernia repair 16 years ago on one side and three years later the other side. The second was on my left side and for several years after my left testicle would hurt when I lifted something heavy. That is still unexplained.