Do you hunt with a jag on your rod???

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cajun

Reaction score
I've been shooting my Omega for the last 2 years. This year is the first year I will hunt with it. I never tried shooting it with a jag on the rod and the rod attached on the gun. Is that safe? I wondered if it was or not and that is why I never tried it. If you have an Omega, please give me some input.
Thanks,
Mitch

Well I do not hunt with an Omega, but I hunt with a jag on all my rifles. As long as it will not stick in front of the muzzle it will be fine. It might get dirty if you shoot a lot, but again.. if it does not stick out in front of the muzzle at all, it will be fine.

Some of the old time flintlock shooter used to have a ramrod that stuck out eight inches past the muzzle. It was not in front of the muzzle so it did not interfere with the rifle.

yes I do..Knight has them on their LRH ramrods already. these are the ones that extend out with the cleaning jag. pretty handy.

for my traditional I cut the rod to accommodate the jag on the end to be even with the barrel.

I hunt with an Omega and I have never hunted with the jag on, but that's just me. My "jag" is about a 4" extension for the rod and I have a little T-handle for the other end. So I don't hunt with the rod "assembled."