Replacing my Barrel

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rowdyjoe

Reaction score
I have a CVA Hawken with a badly pitted bore and want to replace it.  I have found that Deer Creek Products sells barrels for my rifle and am wondering if anyone has experience with them.  The barrels appear to be NOS and they are "white" so, they will need bluing/browning.  I have no experience with any "after market" barrels and would appreciate any advice, suggestions, opinions etc. about these barrels.  I'd like to have a direct replacement (28" barrel, 1 in 48 twist) and these folks appear to offer what I'm looking for

Any help will be appreciated.

Yep, i've used their barrels a lot of times. Great place to do business with. ALWAYS call and see if they have bigger calibers for the barrel channel width you need. They don't always have everything listed.

Great Jon.  Thanks for the reply.  Do the barrels need to be drilled and tapped for the under-barrel rib? 

Also, is the adjustable rear sight mounted in a dove tail or is it held on with screws?  (too lazy to take it apart and check if myself :)  )

Nope, everything is dovetailed, drilled/tapped as they do at the factory. Just have to blue the barrel and add your under rib, sights, tenon, nipple.

Its a hybrid set up actually. When you remove the sight, there's a screw AND a dovetail insert.

RowdyJoe, is your barrel a 15/16" or 1" across the flats.  Those barrels come up on ebay fairly regular.  Also, I see a few nice rifles on gun Broker.   I'm just saying if you got an original barrel from a near new rifle or a complete rifle you wouldn't have to prep anything to it except put it on your rifle and go shoot.

FrontierGander said:
Nope, everything is dovetailed, drilled/tapped as they do at the factory. Just have to blue the barrel and add your under rib, sights, tenon, nipple.