How thick is too thick

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kc_urrutia

Reaction score
I had been shooting .490 roundball with a .005” patch, as I was a beginner and thought things needed to equal .500 since my Hawken is a .50 cal. I have since learned that’s not the case 🤓. Dang noobs! Accuracy just want there. I bought some pillow ticking to make my own patches, but they are pretty thick - .020-.022” thick using my calipers. Will this cause a dangerous scenario of being too tight and basically be a bore blockage? I hd to removed a patched ball from my barrel as I tried to see how they fit for sh*ts & giggles, and it wasn’t inherently impossible to push down to the breach, and once I got the ball puller threaded in good enough- came out with (and I’m guessing) approximately 35-40ish pounds of pulling pressure. The ball was squished, so am thinking- since the lead is soft and has give to it- it’s not completely actually being jammed in the barrel…. It r am I missing something here and asking for a big boom?

Will this cause a dangerous scenario of being too tight and basically be a bore blockage?
No. As long as the patches are lubed, they will do fine. Check your fired patches. Look for cuts or burns which go through the patch. If either is the case go to a size larger. A .005 patch seems light, but as long as it's not being eaten up by the powder or the rifling, and retained good rifling marks in the patch, then it's fine.
A patch which is too tight for accuracy will still fire.

Look at your fired patches. They are the key to it all.