Help on some load development ideas

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
So I'm new to smokless muzzleloaders, not new to muzzleloaders. Got my first build coming together now, it'll be a while till the gun is done, but I'm trying to plan a load to try put once it is.

Im building on a savage action, with a kit from Cecil at prbullet.
50 cal stainless green mountain barrel.
28", 1:26"

I've heard alot of guys doing the hornady 300 grain bullets, powerd by some 5744. I dont hate that, but a part of me wants to shoot 50 cal bullets.

Id like to shoot the fury 320 grain universal fits. Any suggestions on load to move that bullet? Or any other 50 cal loads, sabboted or un sabboted, that you think I should try? Thanks guys.
So what did cecil recomend he's very knowledgeable with his stuff.
I have used his Dynsmo in my savage 45 bore riding.
He might make that bullet fir 50 I don't know but Worth a look.
I would look at a furry 275 45 cal in a harvester light blue with imr 4198 mnt monkey just did a big write up on 50 cal fast twist 20/22 twists respectively and sabots.
Hornady makes there ftx bore rider didn't shoot very good out of my thompson 777 gun but may do very good in that only way to know is try it.
If I was trying it out I'd start around 45 grains of 4198 and work up from there over a chronograph.
I don't believe I'd go above 52 to 54 grains
I'd try and get the velocity to 2150 to 2300
That's one of the bullets I'm going to try in the 50 cal barrels when they come in.
After I finish with my 16 twist 45 projects

Cecil just said that shooting bullet to bore is stupid in a 50 lol. He was saying just shoot 250-300 grain 45 cal. In his sabots of couse. He makes no 50 cal bullets. Says the bc is so low its like shooting a turd