Fairly New With Powder/Lube Questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rost495

Reaction score
Hi All

I have lots of experience in shooting and reloading. Not that much in MZ.

Have decided to take an old 54 Renegade on an elk hunt.

I've decided to use real black power with a musket cap. And cast conicals with a wonder wad as over powder.

Sounds like my mind is made up but I"m open to suggestions. Colorado so I have to follow some guidelines and I'm not much interested in power belts or savage rifles.

I put the gun together years ago. I'm thinking to send the barrel in to have TC relieve the muzzle for easy loading.??

I bedded the whole tang and barrel with steel bed- did I make a mistake??

I need a good ramrod for the gun with a GOOD jag that won't loose the patch. Suggestions please.

I need a good RANGE rod too.

Any other info is welcome which includes--once I start testing bullets and powder--- for the 54 I'm guessing 10 grains is a valid change charge to charge?? What increments do most folks test on?

Do differing musket caps vary like primers do in CF ammo-- IE can double or triple a group or cut it in half.

Is there any upgrade to speed up the locktime on the Renegade or just live with it.

Any way or method to firelap the barrel or easily hand lap it without pouring a led lap? Is this needed or does it help any??

Conical ball lube.... I need to load into a clean barrel and was thinking wonder lube. BUt I also need to protect my barrel from rust while hunting. Which means I intend to dry the barrel, load it, then swab the barrel with bore butter or the same wonder lube from whomever makes both... I will also accuracy test in this fashion. Unless told otherwise.

I don't really like the idea of a real petro product in the barrel before firing but will digress to knowledge.

THanks, Jeff Rost

rost495 said:
Hi All