Shrinkage?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

James Sparhawk

Reaction score
I ordered a ball mould from www.ballmoulds.com. They explain that we have to allow for shrinkage when ordering. multiply the desired mould size by 1.005 for harder alloys and 1.007 for pure lead. Wanting a .498 ball, we decided on a .501 mould. However, after I cast a bit over 100 balls, I measured them and they didn't shrink. I tried shooting them with terrible results. I have contacted him and he said he would come up with a good price on making me a .498 like I wanted to start with.
Now, keep in mind that I am new to casting. But, do any of you know about shrinkage or how to achieve it? I ordered my lead off Ebay from a very popular salesman. He has 100% positive reviews and I read at least 100 positive reviews before purchasing. Several customers stated they checked the bhn and that it was indeed pure lead.
I am using the 4 lb Lee Casting pot and Lyman bottom pour ladle.
Is water quenching necessary?

Water does nothing! Pure lead may shrink some over time. But not what you want. Funny I just had this same conversation this AM. You can adjust the different thicknesses of your patch material. Now you have to buy another rifle for your new mould. Use what you wanted in the first place. Also your soft lead will bump up upon firing.

Water does nothing! Pure lead may shrink some over time. But not what you want. Funny I just had this same conversation this AM. You can adjust the different thicknesses of your patch material. Now you have to buy another rifle for your new mould. Use what you wanted in the first place. Also your soft lead will bump up upon firing.