Process of learning

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caniborrowsomeammo

Reaction score
My daughter's Wolf arrived last Monday finally. We went punching paper on Wednesday. Light loads of White Hots and PRB/.010 lubed patch for her to get used to the rifle.
Chilly 38 degrees. We shot at 25 yards, I was hoping to instill some confidence in her as she has never shot MZ before. Heck, I'm a newbie too, but everything falls into place you know.
The problem is the Wolf is all over the place, I know that she can shoot, though I think her cheek weld on that stock is bad and it needs some elevation. But 8" grouping overall is a little much. We tried cleaning after each shot and not cleaning for a few shots, didn't seem to make much difference.
My Optima will hold 2" with PRB easily at 50 with light loads.
When the Wolf arrived I gave it a good bore clean, then the “Breaking In a Barrel” by Lee Shaver (thanks Lew) as I did with the Optima earlier. From OMG how rough to butter smooth in 25 passes, then some JB Paste to finish it.
I got to reading the forum here and see some mention of patch thickness and shot consistency/accuracy. Next time out we will try some .018 ticking with a 1:7 Ballistol/water lube as it seemed the PRB wasn't too hard to get down the bore.
We will also shoot some sabot loads to see what will work in it.
Rain off and on for the next week or so and I don't enjoy getting wet.