PRB ballistics puzzle

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pymahunter1

Reaction score
This is my first year hunting a flintlock, shooting a 54 cal Renegade with stock sights. Load I am using is 80 grains 2f Goex, .530 Hornady ball, TC pre-lubed pillow ticking patch (can't remember if that's .018" or .020" thickness). I tried sighting in at 50 yards and started a good 4 inches high, lowered the rear sight as far as it would go and was still ~2 inches high. I put a target at 30 yards and found that I was dead on at that range. I ran some numbers through this calculator (1500 fps MV, 1" sight height):
ctmuzzleloaders.com/ctml_experiments/rbballistics/web_apps/rb_ballistics.html

And find that the ball should dropping somewhat between 30 and 50 yards. Any ideas what is going on here?

I'm assuming your thinking that your sighted in for 30 yards and it should drop at 50. In reality your probably sighted in closer to 100 yards. Your bullet is going to hit bullseye at 2 different distances and will be still rising or falling in between. There is no such thing as a flat shooting bullet, all bullets start dropping after leaving the barrel and most people are thinking thier barrel or I should say the bore is level but it reality your muzzle end is higher than the breech end of the bore that cuases your trajectory to looks like an arc.