Hornady FTX vs XTP

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jg2006

Reaction score
I'm new to muzzeloading and I'm looking for a good bullet to try that's relatively inexpensive. I'd like to try some from the Barnes line but they're spendy do the next best option in my eyes is Hornady. I shot the FTX bullets in my 44 mag rifle with great results (accuracy and knockdown power) before and now I'm wondering how they would shoot with a proper sabot. There are several bullet options in regards to diameter and grains as they're used for 44 mag, 444 marlin, and 45-70.

Who has used any of these and what kind of accuracy have you gotten? what loads have you used? experiences at longer ranges - like 150-200 yds?

I've read a lot on here about XTP's being a good round too but part of my reason to sell my 44 rifle and buy a muzzeloader was to extend my range and i don't know how much the wide-mouthed XTP's would slow down at longer ranges.

I have a new CVA Optima and plan on putting a 3x9 Bushnell MZ200 0scope on it and will be using loose pyrodex to start off at least

Thanks