Hello from Iowa

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HockeyStick

Reaction score
Hello community members! It's great to be here.

I'm a new resident of the state of Iowa and decided to get back into hunting after a 15-year hiatus. I harvested a nice 8-point buck during this last shotgun season and I am hooked! Started doing some research on modern muzzleloaders after I learned of Iowa's early muzzleloader season. It seems like a huge advantage to head out into the woods nearly two months before the shotgun hunters (plus, it's warmer in October than it is in December).

I had the opportunity to purchase an in-line ML at a bargain price from my wife's uncle. It's a Traditions Tracker 209 that he never hunted with and only fired a few times. Most of the pictures of the same model online have a black stock with blued barrel. This one has a RealTree stock with what appears to be a nickel-plated barrel. It seems like a decent, entry-level ML. So yeah, I was happy to take it off his hands and I'm excited to try it myself!

Anyway, having lurked on this forum for a bit during my research, I deemed it fitting to officially join the community. I look forward to engaging with fellow members and sharing my experiences!

-HS

Welcome from Michigan, I went to Iowa deer hunting for the first time this year. It was awesome. I’ll be back!
Thanks! I’m located south of Iowa City.
I've got a friend whose son lives down that way and owns some land. If I remember something like eighty acres. He's shot some real bruisers. One buck he shot was a booner. I've got some Federal 209A primers for sale if your interested.

Very nice. You must have some monster deer in your region.