About to order some real black what should I get

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobRed

Reaction score
I’m new to traditional muzzleloading, I’ve been shooting modern online for a little while and want to get into both flint lock and side lock percussion rifle shooting

I don’t have any guns yet other than my in lines but I’m going to stock up on real black for my future self while I see it available.

What should I get? I assume 3f covers all of my bases (priming and main charge), should I also get some 4f for priming? Should I even bother with 2f?

I want to be good for a few years. Thanks

I’m new to traditional muzzleloading, I’ve been shooting modern online for a little while and want to get into both flint lock and side lock percussion rifle shooting

I don’t have any guns yet other than my in lines but I’m going to stock up on real black for my future self while I see it available.

What should I get? I assume 3f covers all of my bases (priming and main charge), should I also get some 4f for priming? Should I even bother with 2f?

3 f is a great choice , I have OE 1 1/2 and 2F and 4F , can you guess what I use most ?, 3F bore/pan in everything in every Caliber I own flint /percussion and 3F shows your a lucky guesser!/Ed

Swiss, there’s a reason most competitive shooters use it. I just stocked up on Swiss to last me years.

What granulation is up to you. I’ve never used 3F, happy with 2F as a main charge and either 2F or 4F in the pan.

I would recommend buying Swiss. It's more expensive but worth it.
3f is a good all round granulation. I use it for priming and main charge in my flintlock.
I also have 2F Swiss but don't use it that much.
You'll have to order a minimum of 4 pounds if you get it from Graf&Sons, so why not mix it up a bit. 2F and 3F. You might just end up with a gun that likes one better than the other.