Ready To Hunt Bows

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisamx

Reaction score
I've been using a recurve for 45 years but I'm considering a compound for first time.  Not sure where to begin, but Ive seen some RTH bows being offered by Bass Pro Shops and others.  Does anyone have experience with rth and or recommendations, thanks in advance.

Chris

The first thing to do is set your budget.  That budget should consider the compound bow itself, arrows, quiver, sight, stabilizer and preferred arrow release.  I chose to purchase each component separately to build and personalize my compound bow from scratch.   If you're a hunter I'd go with a single cam compound.   They are slower but require less maintenance to stay in tune and are usually quieter.

I would say the best thing you can do is go shoot a few of them that are in your budget.  Most places with a pro shop, such as sportsmans warehouse, North40, etc., are more than happy to set up a few bows so you can shoot them if they have a short indoor range.  A single cam is a good suggestion by Marty, they simply do not go out of time on you.  I have a Bowtech with a binary cam system that is supposed to "slave" them together so they don't go out of time, but I have had it do just that once already as the string got more and more shots on it.  Not a lot...but enough to affect my groups so that I noticed something wasn't right.  I'm fine with that as I like the extra speed the cam system gives me, but others may not.
Most new bows are pretty dependable these days, there really isn't one I'd be worried about buying if I liked it...barring a Chinese knock off or something like that of course.  Some will have decent accessories that come with them and some won't.