Some of "those" Questions

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aladinbama

Reaction score
I'm not new to shooting, but am a complete muzzleloading newbie. I have loaded a dozen different rounds for my various handguns and rifles so I am familiar to reloading for centerfire.
My question is this - when you refer to 100 gr of powder are you refering to weight (actual 100 grains) or volume - the measure of 100 on a blackpowder measure? (I have a brass measure that dials from 40 to 120 - that would have to be volume).
How do you compensate for the various sizes of powders? (I plan on shooting mainly BH 209) Do I measure by weight - actual 100 grains or by volume - the 100 line on my brass measure? Hints/Tricks here?
I've read around a lot (I'm a teacher), but are there any links or online articles I should read.
Sorry, but I really don't want to blow myself or anybody else up.
I'm sure there are more of these coming. Thanks, Tom

The powder measure uses volume to determine the charge size. I have since switched over to using weight. The conversion that I use for volume to weight for BH 209 is .7. A 100 gr by volume of BH 209 using my powder measure yields 70 gr by weight. Every powder measure measures is a little different. I measured a bunch of 100 gr volume charges to determine the average weight then calculated the conversion factor. I rounded up it to .7 as it makes the math easy. :D

Tom,

jsteurrys is right on about Blackhorn 209.

Just remember that all Black Powder and Black Powder Substitutes are measured by Volume Units.

In the case of Black Powder, the volume was determined by it's weight, 100 grains weight = 100 grains volume. This is what set the STANDARD for measuring powders for muzzleloading. The VOLUME MEASURE saves us all from having to carry a set of scales around in the woods with us.