Powder Horn, fun project ( I think)

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smokin' Joe

Reaction score
Picked up a couple of steer horns to try my luck at powder horn making.  The first thing I found out: It's more work than I thought it would be. :shock:  I've been scraping the scale with a scraper for a while now trying to get it some what smooth.  The scale is actually kind of deep.  I cut the first one (the right hand carry) down to what I figured is a suitable length.  It's a good 15" measured along the outside curve.  This is my first attempt at making a horn.  I do have a book I'm working from 

Below is pictured the set of horns so you can see kind of a before and my work in progress.
bTSUiw.jpg

WWj9cp.jpg

ZjwoJ4.jpg

Bob, I'm going to add some flats and some moldings for the shoulder strap to tie onto.  I made a double lobe on the base for the strap.  I think the horn is too dark for scrimshaw.

Looking good! I actually like the rougher texture than a polished horn. Just person preference of course. The color in that horn is going to look amazing.

Smokin' Joe said:
Picked up a couple of steer horns to try my luck at powder horn making.  The first thing I found out: It's more work than I thought it would be. :shock:  I've been scraping the scale with a scraper for a while now trying to get it some what smooth.  The scale is actually kind of deep.  I cut the first one (the right hand carry) down to what I figured is a suitable length.  It's a good 15" measured along the outside curve.  This is my first attempt at making a horn.  I do have a book I'm working from 

Below is pictured the set of horns so you can see kind of a before and my work in progress.
bTSUiw.jpg

Joe