Piggies Coming Around More Often

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Today i planted a game plot at the property on Bar Nunn Road. Also checked the game camera. This group of pigs are coming in more often:

a5WJRcjl.jpg

I am seeing some groups on my cameras, but they sure have been a lot harder to find over the past couple of months. I've been shooting and trapping the buggers for about 12 years now and the favorite property for me has produced 761 of them for me so far. I've always thought I'd like to hit the 1,000 mark on that property, but I'm up to 75 yrs. old now and sure slowing down.

Don't know much about pig movements. Are they most active in the early morning?

Pig movement is dependent on several things: Hunting pressure, population density, moon phase and availability of food sources are some. Our lease is a high density area. Hogs are out and about all day long. Large boars have no natural enemies and are often out in the daytime.

The sounder in that game camera photo sometimes comes in the evening. They are around a few days and then gone. There is another sounder that comes around about every three weeks. i prefer to hunt in the late afternoon/evening.

Yesterday morning i noticed the pig trail crossing the road was being used more. There is a huge swampy thicket to the east where pigs hang out.

The weather here will cool off dramatically on Wednesday. Hogs will be travelling more.

Here are the same pigs in the evening:

d5MZPw1l.jpg

We could have dozens of hogs hanging around by filling the unfenced feeder about 300 yards from this one. Hogs are welfare creatures.

Today i planted a game plot at the property on Bar Nunn Road. Also checked the game camera. This group of pigs are coming in more often:

a5WJRcjl.jpg