bore butter

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
i have been using bore butter for a few years and read some bad things about it building up wax in the barrel. what is the best way to get the wax out?and the best way to clean and protect my barrel after cleaning with soap and water?thanks.

parkj5 said:
i have been using bore butter for a few years and read some bad things about it building up wax in the barrel. what is the best way to get the wax out?and the best way to clean and protect my barrel after cleaning with soap and water?thanks.

I was told to you 91% rubbing alcohol would do the job- The patch should be wet/damp, but not dripping.. The alcohol will dry by itself.. Then you can just use regular gun oil ( I use CLP) to protect the barrel.

I swallowed the cool-aid on the bore butter and #13 cleaner until finding this sight.. IF you havent researched it yet, from what I have absorbed: if you are using 777 windex (?? with ammonia) is a great cleaner, followed by CLP. If you are using Blackhorn 209 just use regular gun cleaning oil.

good luck

brian

Personally, I would use either alcohol or a good bore solvent like Hoppes on a nylon bore brush. Or a bronze bore brush if you prefer. Scrub it really good several times and then patch it several times. Then just use a good synthetic gun oil like B/C Barricade or Break-Free CLP after cleaning. :D

An easy way to remove bore butter from your barrel is to remove the barrel from the stock. Take the barrel outside. Now pour boiling hot water down the barrel. The boiling water will melt the wax out of the barrel and if you keep pouring slowly, it will make the wax float up and out the barrel.