New Shooter

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Klondike Jim

Reaction score
I am new to the Muzzleloader World.  Waiting on my new CVA Accura V2 to arrive from CVA.  I am in need of advice on projectiles and loads for Moose and Bear. I am guessing  most shots will be in the 30 to 70 yard range.   Also what bullets do you use for just range shooting/sighting in?  Really hate the idea of $1.40 a round bullet at a piece of paper.   People in Alaska seem to be lost when it comes to muzzleloaders.  Have messages into Carlos about this and more, but looking for others ideas.

:hats off:
First off welcome to the forum. I'm sure you'll get all kinds of answers to your question concerning the loads for bear and moose.
My first thought is, do you have a sporting goods or gun shop that has a lot of ML'er supplies on hand :?: If you do there's a lot of bullets, powders and primers out there. You might want to talk to Carlos for all your supplies because he has everything you need to get the right loads for that size game.
As far as powder goes, you can't beat Black horn 209. It's very consistent and accuracy is second to none. THERE'S NO SWABBING NECESSARY BETWEEN SHOTS and cleaning is really easy.
I would stay in the 300 grain range for that game. The BARNES line of bullets, I like the BARNES SPIT FIRE T-EZ's with the blue sabot that come with it. Opens up like a banana.
There's also some XP's and subsonic' s out there that look pretty mean. Carlos, Dave and Greg can tell you a lot more about them. They have been doing a lot of testing with those bullets.
I personally use Fiocchi Primers. 
Everything I've mentioned I get from Carlos. 
My loads would be 110 grains Black horn (by volume) either a 290 gr Barnes T-EZ or a Harvester PT GOLD 300 GR or a 300 grain 
Power belt AERO LITE or the .458-300 grain subsonic w/ orange sabot.