Bullets For Elk Hunting

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blue Elk

Reaction score
I have just put in for an ML elk hunt and I have also purchased a muzzle loader barrel for my Encore Pro Hunter. I got a great deal on the barrel from Walmart. $184.00 Its on order and I have not gotten it yet. I got me some powder Blackhorn 209 and some primers. Only thing I need now is the kind of bullet to get. I want to get it sighted in with the bullet I am gonna use on my elk hunt and stock up on the bullets before it is to hard to find. What would be a good grain and brand of bullet to try out in my new muzzloader for elk hunting? Im fairly new to muzzle loading. Thank you for any advice you can help me with.

~Scott~

Shooting an Encore, you have to deal with the QLA (false muzzle). So if you are shooting sabots, no problem. However, if Colorado is where you are headed you have to shoot conicals.

Barrels with QLA's usually don't shoot many conicals well. Usually, the best two bullets that they will shoot will either be a powerbelt or a Hornady FPB.

Shot powerbelts for years, but in my Opinion, the FPB is superior through a wider range of powder choices and distances to target. My Omega took an elk down this year shooting BH 209 (90 gr) and the 350 grain FPB.

If you can shoot sabots, then there are a world of choices out there. Since I don't shoot sabots, others will have to advise you there.

I will be hunting Arizona for cow elk. That is if I get drawn for a tag. I have a good chance for the tag, I am a resident with 4 bonus points, but wont find out for a couple more weeks. I am just optimistic about a tag. Arizona have no restrictions on ML bullets and I will be using sabots. Thanks for the help.

~Scott~