Testing Lehigh 40/150 Steel

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sabotloader

Keep Shooting Muzzleloaders - They are a Blast
Supporting member
Reaction score
Lehigh Dave has made another new offering... a 40 cal 150 grain HP steel/copper plated bullet designed to work as does the brass bullets. His target group were younger adults, children, women, and even some of us guys. His feeling was the 150 grain steel bullet would greatly reduce recoil and cost per bullet.

This morning - I decided I really need to go shoot... We have a couple of football games this afternoon and thought it would be a good get away before the games....

The purpose of my trip was to test the "Recoil Reduction"... I can really tell you it certainly does reduce recoil. I started shooting at 70, 80, 90, 100, and 110 grains of T7-2f. I got to tell you 70 grains provided a recoil which i would compare to a 22 mag/17 HMR. By the time I got to 110 grains it still remaned very mild.... My only problem as I kept thinking in my mind "if it is this soft here - how soft is it at 100" I really do not know why I was thinking 100 because i was shooting 75 and all along I was thinking this could be a very effective bullet at 50 yards and probably to 75 yards for most people, after all a 50 cal round ball is a 177 grains...

My conclusion --- Recoil Reduction - It certainly did....

Here is the target from this morning outing. I was not really going to shoot for accuracy because of the wind conditions this morning. It was blowing hard here in Moscow so I knew it would be worse at the farm. I set up the chrono about 10' off the muzzle and the target 75 yards down range. My portable shooting bench was protected from the wind for the most part as grain silo blocked the wind... but 30 yards down range the bullet was exposed to the full force angled wind blowing up the draw.