Weighing charges = eye opener

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarlV

Reaction score
I decided to weigh some charges of BH209 tonight. Now, I've been reloading precision rifle and pistol shells for over 30 years now (Oh MY~!) so I know my way around my reloading bench.

I used the 70 gr by weight = 100 gr by volumn conversion.

110 gr by vol = 77 gr by weight
120 gr by vol = 84 gr by weight

I set up the RCBS balance beam scale and proceded to measure some 110 gr charges by vol and weigh them. Holy Cow! I couldn't believe how inconsistant they were. Some of them 10-12 kernals light and some the same amount heavy. I was using this TC measure and being as careful and consistant as I could.

DSCN0305.jpg

I weighed out 10 charges into Lanes tubes

DSCN0304.jpg

Then I weighed out 10 charges for 120 grains by vol (84 gr by weight) into BH tubes

DSCN0301.jpg

Notice that the BH tubes are graduated but all 10 of them indicated 110 gr when I know there's 120 grains in them. I'll have to e-mail BH about that.

Now I wonder how I've been shooting my ML as well as I have all these years. Perhaps black powder and its substitutes simply aren't all that critical for small differances in powder???

Oh yeah, I really like my new hat :):):)

DSCN0308.jpg

There are a LOT of issues where volumetric measuing is concerned.

Where did 100gr come from?
Originally...a 100gr volumetric muzzleloading powder measure was to measure 100gr BY WEIGHT of ffg blackpowder VOLUMETRICALLY. So the measuring STANDARD we are currently using is 100gr of blackpowder. For the muzzleloading aficionado I've exposed several issues even NOW. Which ffg BLACKPOWDER? Goex, Swiss, Elephant, Wano, Schuetzen, et al? Also...Did they "tap" the measuring device while measuring? So the EXACTNESS of a 100gr volumetric measure is questionable from the beginning.....SOOOO