T/C hawken .54

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rlm

Reaction score
I'm new to muzzleloading and just picked up a used .54 T/C Hawken. What are the best loads for it, I'll be hunting and target shooting with it. Which powder is best Goex, Pyrodex, etc., ball or maxi balls? Should I remove the breech plug, I know the manual says to take it to a gunsmith, any reason why? It would make cleaning a lot easier. A lot of questions so much to learn. Thanks for your help. Roger

Hawken

The breech plug is, for all intents and purposes, not removable. No matter, just clean with with hot water and soap, rinsing well, and finishing up with drying the bore. I'll leave it to the wiser types to tell you what to coat the bore with after that - I use Bore Butter. Remember to remove the nipple first, and clean that by itself. I like to put some anti - sieze on the threads upon installation. A good load to begin with would be a 240gr, XTP sabot, over around 85 - 90 gr. powder(real black powder or substitute - I use 100gr 777 with good results) The most important thing about a black powder over modern firearm, is to clean, clean, CLEAN! Don't let that puppy sit long after shooting - it WILL rust.

Thanks Lewistt I appreciate the advise I have a #11 musket nipple on it is that a pretty good choice, also I was planning on starting with ball ammo. Is Goex a good choice or not? Thanks. Roger