powder

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitch_jdc

Reaction score
i am new to this sport and was going to shoot black horn 209 out of my knight disc extreme but the hangfire was so bad that i have lost confidence in it. i was shooting app shockey gold but could not get a consistant group. was just wondering what kind of powder everyone is shooting. i will be shooting 300gr shockwave bullets with federal primers, but am willing to change the primers or bullets.

:D
First off, welcome aboard :!: :!: I use APP GOLD along with Remington Kleanbore primers. I shoot Powerbelt 295 grain H/P bullets. I don't have a problem with that set up. I use 100 grains of powder. My charge is 100 grains out of the powder measurer but its only 85 grains by weight. ALL POWDERS ARE NOT THE SAME. As far as shooting groups go, my ACCURA is zeroed at 2"high at 50 yards. I would not hesitate to shoot a deer at 100 yards.
Good luck and have a great season :!: :!: :!:

I would say try a different sabot, I also have a knight and I would get hangfires with BH if the sabot wasn't tight enough. I ended up going to HPH12s. That seems to have made the difference for me.

i was shooting winchester 209's. the first shot went off with no hang fire at all. i reloaded and had a misfire put three primers through it and still did not fire. cleaned the gun and had 2 more hangfires. gave up on it that day. went home cleaned the gun. i talked to several people who were shooting the same setup. so i went back the next weekend and the first shoot was a hangfire. i have read a couple of articles were federal or cci are hotter primers.

i use federal 209m primers never a a problem with them and black horn but you need the m primers for black horn (m for magnum)