TC shockwave vs TC XTP

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joshsmit56001

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am very new to muzzleloading and I am trying to find the most economical and best value load for my new TC omega. I fired the shockwaves that came with the gun and they seemed to group well but they are a bit more expensive than the XTP's. I am using 2 pellets of triple seven but I am looking at switching to Blackhorn 209 since everyone says it is quite good. I guess my question is, is it best to stick with the shockwaves with the triple seven pellets or should I look at buying in bulk the hornady XTP's and bulk sabots and using the savings to upgrade to BH209? Also is there really a huge savings by buying in bulk with the hornadys?

Thanks,

Josh

Buying your bullets in bulk is the only way to go. Either on-line or perhaps a local shop that carries re-loading components. Sabots can also be bought in bulk. You'll have to determine which shoot best in your rifle. Some projectiles are a little tough to find, but the supply seems to be getting better. If you decide you like the shockwaves/sst's, you can purchase the FTX's by hornady for punching paper.(same bullet basically) They are a little tougher bullet. They worked fine for me on a recent whitetail hunt. Powder is personal preference, They all have their faults. Price wise, you can't go wrong with T-7 or pyro. With BH you'll save on patches. Hope this helps. The hornady sst's and the shockwaves are the same bullet, just different packaging. I don't know if the sst's are available in bulk any more. Someone else may be able to help with that.

The Hornady XTP pistol bullets max out in velocity at about 1700 FPS at impact distance other wise they will blow up on a deer especially if bone is hit.